MasterWorks Concert III: Untamed Spirit

Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Show Time 7:30pm
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 7:30pm
Tennessee Williams Theatre, 5901 College Rd.
Symphony Chats with Edward Pitts at 6:45pm 

Mendelssohn: Hebrides Overture 
Peter Schickele: P.D.Q. Bach's Concerto for Simply Grand Piano and Orchestra 
Jeffrey Biegel, piano 
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 in E Minor

The final Masterworks concert promises to be a memorable evening with Mendelssohn’s popular Hebrides Overture opening the concert and Tchaikovsky’s fateful 5th Symphony’s brilliant fortissimos bring the season to a broad majestic finale.

Mendelssohn’s music was quite revolutionary. Following Beethoven’s footsteps in bridging the transition from the Classical tradition to the great Romantic experiment - his music was meant to be felt as much as heard. 

The SFSO has joined an international consortium of orchestras by co-commissioning a work written for returning pianist Jeffrey Biegel by Composer/satirist Peter Schickele’s fictitious 18th Century alter ego, P.D.Q. Bach’s Concerto for Simply Grand Piano and Orchestra. Colorado Symphony Orchestra shall premiere the work. Other distinguished Orchestras in the consortium include Finland’s Jyvaskyla Sinfonia and the Austin Symphony among others. 

Tchaikovsky’s typical artistic balance and skillful orchestration, while not nationalistic, has a distinctive Russian flavor, and lifts the mood from sentimentality to romanticism.